Place these scripts at the end of your page:

Stages of Bedsores

Bedsore Patient

Without proper treatment, a bedsore can result in the destruction of muscle and bone. Bedsores progress in four stages. These stages are:

Stage One

Stage One BedsoreA stage one bedsore is characterized by a red area on the skin (could also appear blue or purple on darker skin tones) that does not fade within 30 minutes of removing pressure; sizes vary and the sore is sometimes irregular in shape.

Stage Two

Stage Two BedsoreStage Two BedsoreA stage two bedsore appears on the upper surface of skin as an open wound that may look like a blister, abrasion (scrape) or shallow crater.

Stage Three

Stage Three BedsoreStage Three BedsoreA stage three bedsore involves damage to a full layer of skin, extending into an underlying fat or tissue layer (but not through the muscle). The sore is often black but can appear a hard red or white tissue.

Stage Four

Stage Four BedsoreStage Four BedsoreA stage four bedsore involves complete skin loss with extensive destruction, often extending to the muscle, bone, and supporting structures (e.g., tendon, joint capsule). Undermining and sinus tracts – which aren't visible on the skin’s surface – can under the skin.

Inadequate Nursing Care

To prevent bedsores, bedridden nursing home residents should be moved or repositioned every 2 hours to minimize rubbing, pressure, and friction. Lubricants and protective padding may also be helpful. The skin should be kept clean and dry (extremely important for incontinent patients).

Free Consultation


Forms Of Neglect

Bedridden Patient
  • Bedridden residents being allowed to remain in the same position for extended periods of time.
  • Failing to provide proper nutrition and fluids.
  • Failing to change soiled adult diapers or wet bed sheets.
  • Failing to check residents regularly for signs of pressure sores.
  • Failing to notify the family and physician upon development of sores so that proper treatment may be rendered